Pre-discharge Bankruptcy Education Course is available by appointment.
Consumer Credit Counseling Service is approved by the U.S. Trustees Program to issue certificates in Oregon and California in compliance with the Bankruptcy Code*. These services include providing the Bankruptcy Pre-filing Counseling and Pre-discharge Education.These services are provided both in person and online in English. Those wishing bankruptcy counseling or education in a different language should visit the U.S. Justice website here.
Am I required to get a certificate if I am filing bankruptcy?
Yes. The Bankruptcy Abuse and Consumer Protection Act that went into effect in October of 2005 requires everyone filing bankruptcy to receive both pre-filing bankruptcy counseling and pre-discharge education and to provide a certificate verifying to the court that these requirements have been completed.
Do I receive a certificate after completing the counseling and education with CCCS?
Yes. Each person will receive a certificate. The pre-filing counseling certificate of completion is valid for up to 180 days after the date the counseling was completed. You must have the pre-filing counseling certificate before your bankruptcy paperwork can be filed with the court. You must take the pre-discharge class AFTER you have a bankruptcy filing number. Both certificates need to be filed with the court.
What is the difference between receiving the counseling in-person and online?
The bankruptcy counseling is offered in person by appointment in our office in Medford during regular work hours. You are asked to bring a completed worksheet that includes your budget and list of creditors. During the appointment, you will discuss the bankruptcy process and the consequences of filing as well as discuss other possible options available to you. The counseling is offered online for residents of Oregon and California. You complete the worksheets and learn about the bankruptcy process online, and the session takes approximately two hours
What is the difference between receiving the pre-discharge education in-person and online?
Pre-discharge education classes are offered in-person in Medford. The classes are two hours long, and you must register prior to the class. The education class is offered online and also takes 2 hours to complete. You must have an e-mail address and a working knowledge of computers.
Is there a charge for the bankruptcy services?
Yes. The pre-filing counseling fee is $35.00 per person or $50.00 for a couple for both in-person and online counseling. The pre-discharge education fee is $30.00 a person, and $45.00 for a couple both in-person and online. If you are completing the course online you must pre-pay in the Medford office or have a valid credit or debit card. CCCS will provide services without regard to a debtor student’s ability to pay and will not withhold services because of an inability to pay. You will be eligible to have this fee waived if your income is less than 150% of the federal poverty guidelines for your family size as published in the Federal Register. If a waiver of the fee is requested, proof of income must be submitted to the CCCS office.
* “Approved to issue certificates in compliance with the Bankruptcy Code. Approval does not endorse or assure the quality of an Agency’s services.” The EOUST has not reviewed other non-counseling services.
1. To learn more about the pre-filing counseling certificate, click here.
2. To learn more about the pre-discharge education certificate, click here.
Should you have questions about your financial picture after bankruptcy, click here.